Using Windows Live Writer on a WordPress-blog which has two step authentication enabled

Recently I upgraded my WordPress-account so 2- step authentication is enabled. I got an SMS an entered the code in this SMS on the WordPress-site, but the next time I wanted to put an new blog post online via my favorite blogging software Windows Live Writer I got the following error:

An unexpected error has occurred while attempting to log in:

Problem with the blog server – Server Error 425 Occurred

This account has two step authentication enabled. Please configure an application-specific password to use with this application.

The error about WordPress 2-step identification in Live Writer

I found a solution very fast. You just have to configure WordPress so that Windows Live Writer is allowed again to post bypassing this 2-step authentication. The procedure is like this:

  1. login into your WordPress-account
  2. go to the security-settings (https://wordpress.com/settings/security/)
  3. move down to the section application passwords
  4. as application name type ‘Live Writer’
  5. press ‘Generate Password’
  6. fill in this password in Windows Live Writer in File – Options – Accounts: edit your account

7 thoughts on “Using Windows Live Writer on a WordPress-blog which has two step authentication enabled

  1. You will know there is not readily found anything I have searched on the web that stands up to follow your ease of use instructions to overcome the problem to connect Windows Live Writer to a WordPress-blog which has two step authentication enabled. I wish you Good Luck, many thanks and Cheers.

  2. Nice post! But i ask me how can I see the generated password later to add this on more devices later. Should I write this somewhere down? This seems not to be really secure ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Hi Anton,
      You can write down the password and reuse, or you can do the following: in the list of “Active Application Passwords” you can remove the password for Windows Live Writer and generate a new password.

  3. but that generated password is keyed for once only. i mean that writer doesn’t ask for passwords again which is bad for me as i am using a shared computer. i cant set up user accounts on my pc as people don’t want to get into the hassles of remembering passwords.

    1. Right, that generated password is keyed for once only.
      About people who don’t want to remember password I have th following suggestion: set up different user accounts, but leave the passwords of these users blank. That way you can have your own user profile (eventually password protected) were your WordPress -password is stored in Windows Live Writer.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.